Local Parish and District Elections

Published: 07 April 2018

In Longstanton, the new Parish Council will have a largely familiar look. Only nine candidates were proposed for the eleven seats on the council, so all will be elected unopposed. Of the ten existing councillors, eight will be returning, the exceptions being Sandy Sastry and Sarah Cheung Johnson, who will instead be standing for the District Council. Stephanie Ness will be the only new face.

At District Council level, Longstanton joins a ward that also includes Oakington and Northstowe that will be represented by two councillors. Candidates for these posts are:
  • Sandra Ann ARCHER (Green)
  • Sarah Elizabeth Kar Yee CHEUNG JOHNSON (Liberal Democrat)
  • Simon Mark EDWARDS (Conservative)
  • Polly GUNSMAN (Labour)
  • Roger HALL (Conservative)
  • Alex MALYON (Liberal Democrat)
  • Ed STOKES (Labour)
Edit: Sarah Cheung Johnson and Alex Malyon were elected.